IRCTC Golden Chariot to resume services from Jan 2021

Finally, there is some good news for tourists after a long period of time. From January 2021, the Golden Chariot is all set to resume services. Golden Chariot is the luxury train of the Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC). For operational and marketing purposes, Karnataka Tourism Department handed over the luxury train to the IRCTC in January 2020. The train journey will begin from Bengaluru and cover many famous places in the states of Kerala, Karnataka, and Tamil Nadu before coming back to Bengaluru. IRCTC has introduced three packages for tourists which are given below.

Pride of Karnataka Tour Package

This package is for 6 nights/7 days and covers UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hampi Palace Ruins, Ancient Temples of Badami Caves, Pattadakal, Bandipur Tiger Reserve, Palace Town of Mysore, Coffee Plantations of Chikmagalur, Halebid Medieval Temples, Golden Beaches of Goa.

Jewels of South Tour Package

This package is for 6 nights/7 days and covers Chettinad, Thanjavur, Kumarakom, Mysore, Mahabalipuram, Hampi and Cochin.

Glimpses of Karnataka Tour Package

This package is of 3 nights/4 days and covers Bandipur, Mysore, and Hampi. As a collaboration between the state government of Karnataka and the Railway Ministry, the Golden Chariot luxury train started operations in the year 2008. Having a total capacity of 84 tourists, the train consists of 18 coaches with 44 guest rooms. Each cabin offers various modern features. This consists of a vanity desk, electric sockets, small wardrobe, LCD TV, private washroom, etc.

For Indian Nationals, the Golden Chariot train has also introduced the following promo offers:

  • Avail a discount of 35 per cent on published tariff for full tour, or
  • Pay for one and companion pays only 50 per cent, or
  • Enjoy luxury for 2 nights/3 days for only Rs 59,999 per person on twin sharing basis

Courtesy: Financial Express

399 K