Which executives in the industry were rewarded with the Padma Awards?

This year, 119 renowned personalities were honored with Padma awards on Republic Day. The Padma awards are awarded in three categories, namely Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri, some of the country’s most prestigious awards. The awards are presented in various fields, such as literature, social work, public relations, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, etc. On the occasion of Republic Day, the Padma awards, which were introduced in 1954, are declared every year. These are awarded in three categories: the Padma Vibhushan for outstanding and distinguished service, the Padma Bhushan for outstanding high-order service, and the Padma Shri for outstanding services.

These awards are presented at a formal function by the President of India, which are usually held during March/April in Rashtrapati Bhavan. This year the awards include 7 Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan, and 102 Padma Shri awards. 29 of the award winners are females, 16 posthumous award winners and one transgender award winner. Let’s have a look at the industry executives honored with the coveted Padma Award. The billionaire chairman and MD Rajnikant Shroff of the agrochemical group UPL has been awarded India’s third-highest civilian award, Padma Bhushan.

The Padma Shri was awarded to Mrs. Bector’s Food Specialities Founder Rajni Bector, Zoho Co-Founder Sridhar Vembu, and Lijjat Papad Co-Founder Jaswantiben Jamnadas Popat. The Padma Shri was received posthumously by the maker of Coimbatore’s Shanti Gears, P Subramanian. Also, there are 10 persons from the category of foreigners, Non-Resident Indians (NRI), Indian Origin Persons (PIO), and Overseas Residents of India (OCI), while 16 have been posthumously awarded.

325 K